YACHT “Psychic City (Voodoo City)”

By One Track Mind on Thursday, May 28th, 2009  |  2,790 views


YACHT “Psychic City (Voodoo City)” YACHT “Psychic City (Voodoo City)”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

When YACHT released their “Summer Song” single last year (along with its fantastic video), I was instantly taken by their more avant-garde take on the New York City dancepunktronicawhatever sound. The duo is comprised of Jona Bechtolt (formerly of The Blow) and Claire L. Evans, who–as the story goes–created “Summer Song” as a love letter of sorts to DFA’s James Murphy, who then proceeded to sign the act. Suffice to say I’ve been chomping at the bit to hear more from YACHT, and yesterday, my inbox provided relief in the form of “Psychic City (Voodoo City).”

I’ll start off by saying that the song is not as immediately galvanizing as its predecessor, but there is ample evidence here that YACHT’s debut, See Mystery Lights (due July 28th), will be one of the albums defining the summer of 2009 for yours truly. The band has put together an extensive blog post detailing the influences that birthed “Psychic City”–everything from Althea & Donna and Brian Eno to OutKast and (yes!) R. Kelly–so I’ll spare you further backstory but add The Pixies and Talking Heads to that list.

All of two singles in, a developing motif in YACHT’s work seems to be the tension between an adult understanding and pastiche of various musical styles versus a sort of musical and lyrical naivete. “I used to live in a hearbeat city / I swear I’d fall in love every minute on the street” acts as a doe-eyed foil to the musical nuance of the underlying track, which is a laid-back, burbling number that is quirky in all the right ways. If the rest of See Mystery Lights lives up to “Psychic City” and “Summer Song,” I’ll be a happy camper; if it isn’t, I’ll still have those songs playing through the rest of the sweaty season.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (28 votes, average: 8.04 out of 10)


, ,

6 Comments For This Post

  1. Angora Holly Polo Says:

    I know I’ve been reading this blog for a bit now but today I have to say, this site is SO COOL! The writing, the title, the format, and I am geeking out on how you rate it, and we can rate it, and there’s a streaming listening thing and then a download button too ZOMG!

  2. Jim Says:

    I wish Yacht could combine both singles into a track titled ‘Psychic Summer’, I’m not sure if it would sound all that amazing — but it would certainly be a catchy title.

  3. cate Says:

    It should be noted that this is NOT YACHT’s “debut” album. Jona Bechtolt has been releasing music as YACHT for several years now (recently the 2007 album “I Believe In You. Your Magic Is Real.”) and the change is the addition of his girlfriend Claire L. Evans to the official lineup (she’s been a collaborator for awhile too, see his remix of The Blow’s “Hock It” which features her vocals).

    Anyway, just wanted to point that out. YACHT is pretty great; definitely check out “I Believe in You…” and his work with Khaela Maricich from The Blow.

  4. Guido Sarducci IV Says:

    Heck yeah. Good song! The Blow and YACHT have been faves of mine for quite a while. Happy to hear new stuff. Also, this site is great. Ditto on the whole rating system.

  5. Nina Says:

    I’m not sure where it says it’s the debut album, the only mention is that it’s the second single.

    Anyway though, I love this song and the Summer city video. Kudos.

  6. cate Says:

    Nina, the second paragraph says, “…ample evidence here that YACHT’s debut…”

    Anyway, sorry to be nit-picky. This song, and this site, are both pretty sweet.