Twin Shadow “Castles in the Snow”

By One Track Mind on Monday, February 8th, 2010  |  6,659 views


Twin Shadow “Castles in the Snow” Twin Shadow “Castles in the Snow”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

Brooklyn’s George Lewis, Jr. shares much in common with Class Actress‘ Elizabeth Harper. Both have their mail delivered to Brooklyn addresses, both began recording their music not so long ago in the solitude of their bedrooms (although Harper’s since gone the proper band route), both have (or will have) released music on Terrible Records, the label run by Grizzly Bear’s Chris Taylor, and both are practitioners of a novel, chilled out, future noir aesthetic. Under his Twin Shadow alias, Lewis is poised to release his first 7″ in March, followed by the aforementioned recordings for Terrible. His debut tracks were co-produced by Mike Silver–elsewhere known as Midnight Mike or, more popularly, as Mickey Moonlight of the Ed Banger roster–who has previously collaborated with the likes of Jack Peñate, Findlay Brown, and Franz Ferdinand.

“Castles in the Snow” begins with some ominously arranged keyboard notes, which float over synth pads that hang in the air like ghosts. Not long thereafter (and apropos of the theme), both disappear entirely, replaced instead with dueling bass and electric guitars, and augmented by the odd tambourine burst and hand clap. Lewis multi-tracks his vocals to create a spectral chorus before pulling all of the disparate elements together and pushing forward on all cylinders. For the song’s resolution, a structural loop is completed with the synthesizers once again providing the exclusive accompaniment to Lewis’ final verse. Rather than climax, “Castles in the Snow” chooses to dissolve, a hot breath slowly evaporating away from a frosty windowpane.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (23 votes, average: 8.52 out of 10)


, ,

3 Comments For This Post

  1. Nina Says:

    So so so good, want more!

  2. MIke Says:

    Love the beat, its relaxing and yet exciting!

  3. problem insomnia Says:

    wonderful post, very informative. I ponder why the opposite specialists
    of tthis sector don’t realize this. You should proceed your writing.
    I’m sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

    Also visit myy weeb page … problem insomnia

2 Trackbacks For This Post

  1. Plant Plants “She’s No One”  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] features tracks by previously featured acts like HEALTH, Chad Valley, Toro Y Moi, Wild Nothing, Twin Shadow, and tUnE-YaRDs. That coterie of peers should provide a solid sense of where the group situates […]

  2. Seatraffic “Superficial Heart”  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] credited to producer Nic Pope who has previously highlighted that same sensibility in the work of Twin Shadow and The Morning Benders. That sense of balance between lightness and substance is what makes this […]