The Silent League “Here’s A Star”

By One Track Mind on Tuesday, December 1st, 2009  |  3,988 views


The Silent League “Here’s A Star” The Silent League “Here’s A Star”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

One of the wonderful things about the music scene in a creative hotbed like Brooklyn is the inevitable, incestuous intertwining of its roots. Bands share practice spaces, share stages, share girlfriends, and before you know it, you get collectives like Toronto’s Broken Social Scene making beautiful music together. For former Mercury Rev keyboardist Justin Russo, this connective web takes the shape of The Silent League, his on-again, off-again network of musicians who have contributed to acts including Arcade Fire, St. Vincent, and Beirut. On January 26th, The Silent League will release their third full-length album, But You’ve Always Been The Caretaker…, a record which boasts an affinity for everything from The Flaming Lips’ eclectic miniature suites to Marc Bolan’s sentimental swagger.

Sandwiched toward the middle of the track listing on But You’ve Always is “Here’s A Star,” a four-minute ballad that manages to incorporate an impressive vista of musical territory. There are shades of Sufjan Stevens in the heavily layered harmonies and lush instrumentation, while other sections, carefully guided by pedal steel and piano, echo the work of My Morning Jacket and Todd Rundgren. All of these elements are somehow seamlessly stitched together, with “Here’s A Star” entertaining many moods but never feeling inconsistent. At one point, Russo sings, “Here’s a star for another lost, lonely dreamer,” and the line nicely encapsulates the atmosphere the group has created on the track–a fully realized vision, but one that is allowed to drift along on its own ambling current.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (21 votes, average: 8.19 out of 10)


, ,

3 Comments For This Post

  1. yoowel Says:

    Sweet music.
    Link doesn’t work though – “Not Authorized”

  2. Bryan Says:

    Yeah, there’s a problem with the download link. Nice site, by the way.

  3. One Track Mind Says:

    Thanks for letting me know–the download link has been fixed, so you’re good to go!