The National “Bloodbuzz Ohio”

By One Track Mind on Friday, March 26th, 2010  |  15,614 views

Indie Rock

The National “Bloodbuzz Ohio” The National “Bloodbuzz Ohio”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

Over the course of four full-length records, Brooklyn’s The National have become critical darlings of the indie rock world, with each successive LP seeming to garner ever-higher levels of praise. Unlike so many of their blog-hyped peers, The National has consistently merited such adoration. Their music touches on traditions including chamber-pop, canyon rock, and varied U.K. influences, but their overall tone is of a moody (though not saturnine) melancholy. This notion is anchored most noticeably by singer Matt Berninger’s canorous baritone, which rumbles forth from deep within his belly.

Album number five will come in the form of High Violet, set for a May 11th release via 4AD (the band’s two previous efforts were released by sister label Beggars Banquet). “Bloodbuzz Ohio,” the sixth of the record’s eleven tracks, is a mid-tempo affair with plenty of breathing room for Berninger’s vocals and a cohort of acoustic guitar strums and rich piano chords. Bryan Devendorf’s drumming is hard and syncopated throughout, lending a degree of intensity to a song that would feel much looser otherwise.

While one can’t be quite sure what a “bloodbuzz” is, The National make it sound positively intoxicating (except maybe for the part about getting “carried to Ohio in a swarm of bees.”) Velvety and warm, “Bloodbuzz Ohio” is the type of song which swaddles you in its spirit, keeping you safe as it swallows you whole.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (727 votes, average: 9.54 out of 10)



15 Comments For This Post

  1. Alexandra Says:

    I’m never disappointed with The National. Hailing from my hometown BK, this song just reawakens my love for The National’s subtle but emotionally lingering lyrics, whimsical piano, heavy drums and raw vocals! Love it!

  2. Violette Says:

    Fanfuckingtastic! Can’t wait to hear the new album!

  3. Nina Says:

    Love love love!

  4. Patrick Says:

    One of the best bands. Of all the bands.

  5. alisha Says:

    So excited to get the new album! If it wasn’t for you, I would have never known.

  6. NinjaRiv Says:

    I like the vocals! It reminds me of Johnny Cash which is never a bad thing. His voice really does rumble from down below. I don’t normaly enjoy Indie Rock that much but this is awesome sauce and I plan on getting the album!

  7. Ed Says:

    I keep hearing great things about these guys. This song makes me want to give Boxer another listen.

  8. wyskydyk Says:

    i was expecting so much more
    didn’t do much for me
    didn’t care too much for that sound in 1985 either

  9. Patrick Says:

    I’m pretty sure the world of music would be a completely different place had there been music even remotely similar to that of The National in 1985.

  10. Dale Says:

    The album isn’t even out yet, but based on The National’s past performance and on this great track I’m already carving out a space for it in the upper reaches of my Best of 2010 list.

  11. Alexa Says:

    The National are the nicest guys with whom to work.

  12. Mie Says:

    What’s Canyon Rock?

  13. One Track Mind Says:

    @Mie: It’s a reference to the music of California’s Laurel Canyon area during the 1970s. Think along the lines of Gram Parsons.

    Here’s a link for you:

  14. Alexa Says:

    I’m on a love buzz enjoying their music today!

  15. corporate gifts sg Says:

    I am no longer positive the place you’re getting your info, however good topic.
    I needs to spend some time finding out more or understanding more.

    Thank you for excellent info I used to be on the lookout for this info for my mission.

5 Trackbacks For This Post

  1. Andy Clockwise “Stealing Cars (Second Wind)”  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] Angeles-dwelling Aussie transplant Andy Clockwise splits the difference between The Hold Steady and The National–he aspires to Springsteenian grandiosity but is fairly morose as he does so. It sounds like a […]

  2. Young the Giant “My Body”  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] release comes at the three-minute mark during a bridge as subversive and elegant as anything The National or Titus Andronicus have mustered in their careers. All told, “My Body” makes for an […]

  3. The 10 Best Songs of 2010  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] download ]  |  [ read more ]  |  Rating: […]

  4. Jesse Payne “Take Me”  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] Payne inhabits the same realm of stark Americana as Band of Horses, Calexico, Giant Sand and The National. “Take Me” saunters along on a gently twanging country lope until southwestern horns join in […]

  5. Wildlife “Born to Ruin”  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] calls to mind indie rock outfits who have elevated their sound to a craft–fine acts like The National or Young the Giant who can transform three and a half minutes into a searing, visceral statement […]