The Mynabirds “Numbers Don’t Lie”

By One Track Mind on Wednesday, January 27th, 2010  |  14,301 views

Indie-Pop, Soul

The Mynabirds “Numbers Don’t Lie” The Mynabirds “Numbers Don’t Lie”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

I’ll be honest: I used to hate on Omaha’s Saddle Creek record label. Perhaps it was unwarranted, but as someone who couldn’t stomach Bright Eyes I simply chose to ignore the entire label’s output rather than chance a run-in with Conor Oberst. It was a mistake, though, since there are so many talented, innovative acts calling the label home; take Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson and The Rural Alberta Advantage, for instance.

Another band I missed out on by wearing these blinders was Georgie James, a collaboration between former Q and Not U drummer John Davis and vocalist Laura Burhenn. With Georgie James having called it quits last year, Burhenn is now stepping out on her own with a solo project called The Mynabirds, whose premiere LP, What We Lose In The Fire We Gain In The Flood, will be released by Saddle Creek on April 27th. After one listen to her gorgeous work under this new stage name, it’s hard to not feel compelled to go listen to everything she’s had a hand in. Burhenn clearly “gets it,” coupling a voice that is smoky and substantial, although never too forceful, with an intuitive grasp of American musical forms. Indeed, The Mynabirds name comes from a forgotten Motown house band which included both Neil Young and Rick James–a perfect encapsulation of Burhenn’s mixture of country, gospel, and soul influences.

“Numbers Don’t Lie” begins with its loosest passage, a little over twenty minutes of dreamy organ and twinkling piano keys. Then it gets down to business, laying down the sort of soul throwback that Amy Winehouse would make if she had more talent and less of a drug habit. A simple, shuffling piano melody and a bed of rich vocal harmonies give Burhenn the space to shine, and she does like a star, inflecting her vocals with the slightest bits of sorrow and sweetness. A.J. Mogis (of Monsters of Folk) does the song justice with his relatively clean production, letting the songwriting and singing rise to the fore. From a musical perspective, “Numbers Don’t Lie” isn’t really anything we haven’t heard before, but its flawlessly delivery and palpable passion make it a must-listen.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (71 votes, average: 8.07 out of 10)


, ,

5 Comments For This Post

  1. Sam Youngs Says:

    Love this track! And actually RICHARD SWIFT produced the entire record, not AJ Mogis.

  2. One Track Mind Says:

    True: it was produced by Swift and engineered by Mogis.

  3. spencer Says:

    you guys got it

    this has been a sound i have been looking for
    keep up the good work
    keep to it
    you guys will make it farskies

  4. steve pate Says:

    Beautiful sound, this sound has been to long coming back!!!!

    Thanks Ya’ll

    keep it up & GOD Bless

  5. Trena Says:

    Thus, if you want to know what the Dark Age period is and wish to
    fight with high spirits by defeating all your
    opponents, then Dark Medieval games are just right for you.
    * Stay away from over-used terms so ubiquitous that they
    are now meaningless. Whenever you want to buy something,
    you think in terms of gold instead of dollars.

2 Trackbacks For This Post

  1. The Big Paws - The Big Paws 13/02/10 – Tracklisting Says:

    […] by Clearlake “The Numbers Don’t Lie” by The Mynabirds (It’s a free download) “Toxic” by Or, the Whale “Crown On The Ground” by Sleigh Bells […]

  2. Extraenvironmentalist » [ Episode #3 // Ideological Energy ] Says:

    […] Music (in order of appearance) The Mynabirds – Numbers Don’t Lie via OneTrackMind Chicago Bulls Intro Song Gold Panda – Same Dream China via Pitchfork Miike […]