the morning benders “Promises”

By One Track Mind on Tuesday, January 12th, 2010  |  7,070 views

Indie Rock

the morning benders “Promises” the morning benders “Promises”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

If you aren’t familiar with Berkeley, California quartet the morning benders yet, chances are you’ll be hearing a lot about them in 2010. The band’s 2008 debut, Talking Through Tin Cans, was deemed the best indie/alternative album of that year by the all-knowing folks over at iTunes and the band recently signed with powerhouse indie label Rough Trade (part of the 4AD/Matador/XL family of imprints). the morning benders’ sophomore full-length, Big Echo, will be released on March 9th and was co-produced by Chris Taylor of Grizzly Bear, who lends some eccentric touches and a certain crispness to the tracks.

Among Big Echo‘s ten tracks is “Promises,” a thick, satisfying slice of indie rock that feels plucked from 2002, recalling the finer moments of the Definite Article heyday (when The Shins and The Strokes and The Walkmen enjoyed a surprisingly large spotlight). While the morning benders may evoke this breed of band–and wouldn’t you know, they sport that curious the, too–their sound is more adventurous than most of their peers and more willing to saunter off on sixteen bar tangents. This lends a nice jocundity to “Promises” that is lacking in the music of their more dour-faced contemporaries. Vocalist Christopher Chu sounds like he’s having a lot of fun with this song because he probably is, and that blithe sensibility is contagiously borne through the airwaves. What’s more, “Promises” manages to remain taut even with its small bits of sidetracking, making it a temptingly re-listenable tune.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (46 votes, average: 8.07 out of 10)



10 Comments For This Post

  1. Whirlygig Says:

    I can imagine hearing this in a car commercial. In a good way. This song is like a piece of bacon.

  2. Nina Says:

    Love it. Sounds like there is a bit of Sloan in the mix as well.

  3. joanne Says:

    love it! great vocals and really fine lyrics.

  4. alexis Says:

    been in love with this band ever since seeing them live a couple years ago. talking through tin cans is a masterpiece and i expect amazing things from big echo as well.

    i completely agree that we will be hearing a lot about these guys in 2010. they deserve it!

  5. George Hess Says:

    Can’t wait for Big Echo’s release!

  6. mike Says:

    Good grief, another emo sounding indie release. How original. I understand people may like this stuff, but it is about as original as Kraft Macaroni and Cheese, but without the tasty processed powdered cheese and undercooked noodles.

  7. Russ Says:

    I’m a big fan of their Motown covers (they have a really fine version of “He’s A Rebel” by The Crystals), but find their usual songwriting a little bland. But as far as bland indie pop goes, I’m glad they’re making it and not someone with lesser influences.

  8. nick Says:

    this shit ain’t bland at all!

  9. ricky Says:

    are you kidding me? this is so good

  10. Itsashirt T shirts Says:

    I’m a big indie fan and I love these vocals

1 Trackbacks For This Post

  1. Miniature Tigers “Gold Skull”  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] shows under their belt last year alone, including opening spots for The Spinto Band, Ben Folds, and the morning benders (whose vocalist, Christopher Chu, produced nine of the Fortress‘ ten tracks). The new record, […]