The Concretes “Good Evening”

By One Track Mind on Wednesday, September 15th, 2010  |  16,290 views


The Concretes “Good Evening” The Concretes “Good Evening”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

It’s been over three years since we last heard from Swedish indie-pop act The Concretes, a band who turned out a string of consistently excellent records beginning with 2003’s eponymous debut. The band has undergone many changes in the years since they premiered–most notably the departure of lead singer Victoria Bergsman, who now records under the Taken by Trees monker–but The Concretes have never undergone a sea change quite like the one about to greet their fans.

On November 8th, Friendly Fire Recordings will release the band’s latest LP, entitled WYWH. The Concretes have referred to it as their “disco” album, and one listen to “Good Evening” makes evident that such a classification is only a half-joke. With former drummer Lisa Milberg now handling vocals, the band has stepped out of their comfort zone and embraced elements of the spacious Balearic sound which has reared its head since their last release.

On a practical level, this means that “Good Evening” has a four-on-the-floor drum beat, twinkling synthesizers, and vocals processed with generous helpings of digital delay. However, hallmark elements of The Concretes’ sound remain in place as well. The beautiful guitar melodies which characterized their first couple of records are transmuted here into more languorous sighs, but there is no denying their beauty. While this is a departure sure to frustrate some fans of the band’s more twee roots, The Concretes have taken bold, confident steps into new territory with WYWH; those willing to march alongside them are in for a great listen.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (26 votes, average: 8.35 out of 10)


, , ,

0 Comments For This Post

2 Trackbacks For This Post

  1. Delay Trees “Cassette 2012″  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] full-length debut was released earlier this month by Friendly Fire Recordings (home to Oh No Ono, The Concretes, and Acrylics) and showcases a dream-pop sound notable not so much for the genre’s typical […]

  2. Korallreven “As Young As Yesterday”  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] existence. Guest vocals are provided by Victoria Bergsman of Taken By Trees (and formerly of The Concretes and the female voice on Peter, Bjorn & John’s “Young Folks”), another artist with a long […]