Thao and Mirah “Eleven (featuring tUnE-YarDs)”

By One Track Mind on Tuesday, May 10th, 2011  |  2,522 views

Indie Rock

Thao and Mirah “Eleven (featuring tUnE-YarDs)” Thao and Mirah “Eleven (featuring tUnE-YarDs)”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

“Eleven” starts off with a percussive intro that never lets up. The rim shots conjure up the sort of street festival that I might actually want to attend. These rhythms form the song’s engine, and they continue to surge forward throughout the track. Synths join in, ebbing and flowing almost carelessly.

At its core, “Eleven” revolves around its innovative vocals. The song’s three vocalists, Thao Nguyen, Mirah, and tUnE-YarDs sing in unision: “Love is love / Don’t ever go away.” The group vocals soon cede to Thao’s low singing, which is practically a chant: “I’m the traveling gentleman / I knew I would come back again.” Then Mirah’s higher voice alternates loosely with Thao’s, while tUne-YarDs, whose given name is Merill Garbus, tears up the background vocals.

Thao and tUne-YarDs have a history of collaboration. tUnE-YarDs offered guest vocals on “Easy” from Know Better, Learn Faster, which was Thao’s last release with the Get Down Stay Down. The song was on of the album’s highlights.

If I may refer to the over-used Nigel Tufnel Spinal Tap reference, it is the addition of Garbus’ sensibilities to this remarkable new track from Thao and Mirah that “turn it up to eleven.” The venerable Kill Rock Stars released Thao and Mirah on April 26, 2011. The album, which Thao, Mirah, and Merill co-produced, has (you guessed it) eleven tracks, and kicks off with “Eleven.”

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (18 votes, average: 7.39 out of 10)


, , ,

2 Comments For This Post

  1. Angora Says:

    YES! Heard this one on 1190 a while ago and fell in love.

  2. Karol Says:

    I see a lot of interesting content on your blog. You have to
    spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there
    is a tool that creates unique, google friendly posts in couple of minutes,
    just search in google – laranita’s free content source

2 Trackbacks For This Post

  1. Gang Gang Dance “Mindkilla”  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] recently joined 4AD, and their sound fits right in with other experimental label mates such as tUnE-YarDs, Deerhunter, and Ariel Pink’s Haunted […]

  2. Gold Leaves “The Ornament”  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] the din of hype. It will be interesting to hear the rest of this record, on which he is joined by Thao Nguyen and members of The Papercuts and The Moondoggies, to see if his vision and interpretation of these […]