Rusty Willoughby “C’mon C’mon”

By One Track Mind on Friday, January 28th, 2011  |  2,041 views


Rusty Willoughby “C’mon C’mon” Rusty Willoughby “C’mon C’mon”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

Although his name will be new to many, Rusty Willoughby‘s recording career stretches back twenty-five years to his first release with Pure Joy. Following his work with that band, Willoughby led Flop through a series of records for the Sony and Frontier labels before releasing the first of two solo LPs in 1999.

His third effort under his own name, Cobirds Unite, is a fitting testimonial to a quarter-century spent writing and recording music. Released by Local 638 Records this past November, the album features a prominent guest vocal role for Visqueen frontwoman Rachel Flotard, as well as contributions from members of acts including Afghan Whigs, Mudhoney, and Screaming Trees.

Don’t be fooled by the sound implied by those last three bands, however, as Cobirds Unite is firmly rooted within the traditions of Americana. “C’mon C’mon,” the record’s third track, is a pastoral slice of blue-eyed soul. A cello and upright bass waltz underneath the verses while economical electric guitar chords punctuate the downbeats. Elsewhere, vibraphone lends its reverberating grace to Willoughby’s vocal work, which sounds comfortable and confident amid this wide open panorama. As with some of our favorite singers, there is an immediate familiarity to Willoughby’s croon–a smooth, perfectly pitched delivery with just the slightest suggestion of whiskey and cigarettes around the fringes.

While “C’mon C’mon” doesn’t thrill for its innovation, it doesn’t intend to. Instead, it is a great meal of comfort food that Rusty Willoughby has on the menu for his listeners… and we’re licking our plates clean.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (23 votes, average: 7.87 out of 10)


, , , ,

Comments are closed.