Pepper Rabbit “Older Brother”

By Emily Becker on Monday, October 11th, 2010  |  4,992 views


Pepper Rabbit “Older Brother” Pepper Rabbit “Older Brother”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

Kick drum and tenor ukulele aren’t traditional choices for an elegy, but “Older Brother” is hardly typical, and those instruments match surprisingly well with the keyboard swells when as vocalist Xander Singh intones, “I wish I could reach out and touch you / don’t worry I’m not sad… save some space for me and say hello to your Dad.”

Pepper Rabbit doesn’t seek to rub grief raw like the Sufjan Steven’s “Casimir Pulaski Day” or craft an anthem like Band of Horses “The Funeral.” Instead, “Older Brother” builds a simple goodbye out of memory instead of mourning. “Older Brother” deserves a spot in that select company, but be forewarned: while the song’s approach may seem gentle, listening to “Older Brother” while viewing photo slideshows of any kind will render the images unbearably poignant.

Although they tour as a trio, at its core Pepper Rabbit is a duo comprising Singh and drummer Luc Laurent. Their debut full-length, Beauregard, will be released on October 26th courtesy of Kanine Records.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (57 votes, average: 8.67 out of 10)


, ,

0 Comments For This Post

2 Trackbacks For This Post

  1. Custom Ukulele Regrets: Friday Links | Ukulele Hunt Says:

    […] Jennifer Teeter’s songs are now up on iTunes, One Track Mind has Pepper Rabbit’s Older Brother, interview and performance from Nellie McKay from the New York Times (thanks to […]

  2. The Big Paws - The Big Paws 06/11/2010 — Tracklisting Says:

    […] “Boxer” by Lovers (it’s a free download) “Demon Host” by Timber Timbre (it’s a free download) “Old Age” by How I Quit Crack “Chin Up” by Former Ghosts (it’s a free download) “Habibi” by De Staat (it’s a free download) “Heartache By Numbers” by Bryan Ferry “Older Brother” by Pepper Rabbit (it’s a free download) […]