Oh No Ono “Internet Warrior”

By One Track Mind on Saturday, January 30th, 2010  |  3,223 views

Indie Rock, Indie-Pop

Oh No Ono “Internet Warrior” Oh No Ono “Internet Warrior”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

In a previous life, I ran an indie-pop night in Manhattan’s East Village, and one of my longtime DJ partners was a fella named Dan. Dan was the perfect accomplice for such an endeavor, as he was just as big a music geek as I was, actively seeking out the same sort of overlooked international indie acts. Dan moved on to bigger and better things, and one of them was founding Brooklyn’s Friendly Fire Recordings, which has churned out some under-appreciated (and some thoroughly acclaimed) releases from acts including The Phenomenal Handclap Band, Faunts, Windmill, and Camphor. The label’s newest signing is Oh No Ono, a Danish outfit whose North American debut, Eggs, was released this past Tuesday.

Oh No Ono produce music that is bold, defiant, and anything but complacent. On “Internet Warrior,” the record’s third track, the band nimbly navigates the experimental pop seas, folding melodies, tempos, and rhythms into one another without ever losing grasp of the compositional big picture. Whether they are in the midst of a spacey breakdown punctuated by exotic stringed instruments or crafting musical swells with lush strings and perfect vocal harmonies, Oh No Ono always feel comfortable in their own skin, never reaching for more than they can grasp despite their ambitious acrobatics. As a result, “Internet Warrior” offers that most gratifying of listens: a song which benefits from the scrutiny of multiple listens, each pass revealing further textures and tricks, but which also features a pure enough melodic sensibility that it may be enjoyed in a more passive capacity.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (23 votes, average: 6.83 out of 10)


, ,

4 Comments For This Post

  1. Jacki Says:

    This song doesn’t right click to download, help?

  2. One Track Mind Says:

    @Jacki: It does work, it’s just that sometimes the save dialog window takes a few moments to pop up. The server the band has the MP3 on is a little slow… we’ll move it over to our server today to speed up the download.

  3. Shane L. Says:

    Try hitting the little X in the corner of your browser — this song is awful.

  4. Jeff Says:

    disagree with shane. i think this song is great.

3 Trackbacks For This Post

  1. Efterklang “Modern Drift” | One Track Mind Says:

    […] seems to be a flurry of excellent, inventive indie music pouring out of Denmark these days. At the crest of that tide is Efterklang, the Copenhagen-based quartet who will be […]

  2. SXSW 2010 in Austin, Texas | From the Hip Photo Says:

    […] Oh No Ono, above, were another highlight of the festival. We caught them twice, and not just they’re signed to Danny’s friend Dan Koplowitz’s Friendly Fire label. They killed it both times we saw them and won the “Best Hair” award for SXSW 2010. […]

  3. Delay Trees “Cassette 2012″  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] self-titled full-length debut was released earlier this month by Friendly Fire Recordings (home to Oh No Ono, The Concretes, and Acrylics) and showcases a dream-pop sound notable not so much for the […]