Monsters of Folk “Say Please”

By One Track Mind on Thursday, August 13th, 2009  |  8,182 views

Indie Rock

Monsters of Folk “Say Please” Monsters of Folk “Say Please”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

With the notable exception of Broken Social Scene (and the less-notable one known as Swan Lake), the indie world doesn’t care much for the idea of the supergroup. It would rather leave the gimmick to the ear-numbing commercial radio acts–the Audioslaves and Velvet Revolvers of the world. On September 22nd, however, a new indie supergroup will enter the fray, drawing members from three groups who have toured together and sat in on each other’s sets. M. Ward, Bright Eyes‘ Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis, and My Morning Jacket‘s Jim James will release their self-titled debut as Monsters of Folk and then hit the road for a comprehensive North American tour. “Say Please” is our first glimpse at the work of these Monsters.

The track is a trim two minutes and forty-eight seconds in length, but that is enough time for the band to paint a clear picture of their approach. There is a bluesy, southern rock swagger to much of “Say Please”–plenty of slippery guitar fills and the requisite distorted, note bending solo–and the instrumentation is simple but potent. As one might imagine given the lineup, an advantage the band is happy to leverage is the usage of vocal harmonies; Monsters of Folk deploys harmonies liberally and effectively, beefing up this track with the power of their various voices. Rhythmically, “Say Please” trots along on a choppy, consistent groove which is accented by a number of stops and starts. The sum total is very pleasing, a tight little nugget of songwriting.

When Monsters of Folk’s debut hits shelves, it will be interesting to hear how the band’s sound is influenced by their instrument and songwriting-credit swapping. My guess is that most songs will stick to the same general formula defined by “Say Please,” in which case it should be an easily digested but immediately satisfying listen.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (29 votes, average: 8.41 out of 10)



4 Comments For This Post

  1. Cael Says:

    This is going to be fun. XD

  2. Andrew Says:

    Aaah – the Ghost of Lennon in the background – very nice track though.

  3. tclopetfan Says:

    they’re goin for the traveling wilburys of the 00’s and no one can ever be as good as dylan, petty, orbison, harrison, and lynne. also, you’re forgetting about new pornographers because they’re most certainly a supergroup.

  4. Cassidy Says:

    psh, haters. this song is great.

2 Trackbacks For This Post

  1. The Mynabirds “Numbers Don’t Lie” | One Track Mind Says:

    […] like a star, inflecting her vocals with the slightest bits of sorrow and sweetness. A.J. Mogis (of Monsters of Folk) does the song justice with his relatively clean production, letting the songwriting and singing […]

  2. The Roots featuring Jim James “Dear God 2.0″  |  One Track Mind: free, legal MP3 downloads Says:

    […] theme makes their reworking of Monsters of Folk’s “Dear God” an appropriate source material selection, given its Judy Blume-ish […]