Holy Ghost! “I Will Come Back”

By One Track Mind on Thursday, July 9th, 2009  |  2,717 views


Holy Ghost! “I Will Come Back” Holy Ghost! “I Will Come Back”

[ download ]

It’s been two years since the production duo of Nick Millhiser and Alex Frankel released a track under the Holy Ghost! name, which isn’t so say that they haven’t been busy. In the interim, the pair have constructed remixes for a flurry of artists including MGMT, Phoenix, Cut Copy, and Moby–an impressive list of names to add to their résumé, to be sure. Now the band has released “I Will Come Back” through the always stellar Green Label Sound project, which has previously brought new material from Matt & Kim and The Cool Kids and will be releasing songs from Amazing Baby and Chromeo in the months ahead.

Speaking of Chromeo, it would be impossible to discuss “I Will Come Back” without bringing up our favorite electrofunkers. This track could easily be mistaken for a new Chromeo track, so thoroughly shared are the two band’s influences. There is that “P.Y.T.” funkiness in the synthesizers, the stripped-down cool of the old school drum machines–even the vocalists strike a similar timbre. A nice touch Holy Ghost! adds on this track to separate them a bit from their peers is tapping the Brooklyn Youth Chorus for some inconspicuous yet effective vocal shading. At times, the five and a half minute track length feels a little on the long side, but the beat is so elastic throughout that this is easily swept under the rug.

Perhaps the best thing to be said about “I Will Come Back” is that it’s a whole lot of fun, a song which invites dancing with its stylishly draped, wide open arms. It’s smart and sexy, and raises the expectations for their debut full-length, scheduled to be released on DFA Records early next year.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (28 votes, average: 7.64 out of 10)


, ,

Comments are closed.