Elliott Smith “Cecilia/Amanda”

By One Track Mind on Friday, January 8th, 2010  |  3,575 views

Indie Rock, Indie-Pop

Elliott Smith “Cecilia/Amanda” Elliott Smith “Cecilia/Amanda”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

Elliott Smith and his music need little introduction–he was likely the only musician ever able to maintain indie cred while garnering an Academy Award nomination (in 1998’s Best Original Song category for “Miss Misery,” which appeared on the Good Will Hunting soundtrack). Smith released five full-length records before ending his own life in 2003 at the age of 34, with another two (the unfinished From a Basement on the Hill and the New Moon compilation) released after his death. On April 6th, Olympia’s venerable Kill Rock Stars will be adding From A Basement on the Hill and Roman Candle, Smith’s first effort, to their catalog, making the label the permanent home for all of Smith’s independent releases.

To commemorate the occasion, the label is sharing “Cecilia/Amanda,” a previously unreleased recording from 1997. The song’s origins date back to his high school band, Stranger Than Fiction, when it was recorded with a different set of lyrics, but this rendition is classic Elliott Smith. Baroque elements harmonize with barely-there vocals, murmurs set against what is truly a bit of lavish instrumentation. “Cecilia/Amanda” is transfixing if brief, much like the life of the artist who produced it.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (33 votes, average: 8.00 out of 10)


, ,

3 Comments For This Post

  1. Charlie Says:

    this song has actually been available for a while now via Unreleased: From a Basement on the Hill II

  2. One Track Mind Says:

    @Charlie: That isn’t an actual album, just a bunch of demos which were leaked on the internet. Its inclusion on the Kill Rock Stars re-release will represent the first official release of the song.

  3. NoNameNumberNine Says:

    <3 I just love him so much.

1 Trackbacks For This Post

  1. matt pond PA “Starting” | One Track Mind Says:

    […] and piano all serve to flesh out Pond’s vocals and the main, driving guitar line. Shades of Elliott Smith at his more lushly orchestrated and the polished pop of Chamber Strings are both evoked, as are the […]