Delay Trees “Cassette 2012”

By One Track Mind on Friday, May 27th, 2011  |  3,415 views


Delay Trees “Cassette 2012” Delay Trees “Cassette 2012”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

[ download ]

There must be something about the Scandinavian landscape, something expansive and limitless, that can’t help but seep its way into those nations’ musical exports. Readers have previously witnessed this quality on tracks by Blindfold, Seabear, Rubik, and Pallers, and today it’s dished out by Finnish act Delay Trees.

The quartet’s self-titled full-length debut was released earlier this month by Friendly Fire Recordings (home to Oh No Ono, The Concretes, and Acrylics) and showcases a dream-pop sound notable not so much for the genre’s typical hazy atmospherics but instead for crisp production with significant crossover potential.

“Cassette 2012,” the album’s second cut, is engaged in a romantic affair with the end of the world. Vocalist Rami Vierula sings with clarity and poise, letting a faint accent feather the edges of lyrics like, “I’ll meet you in 2012 on the stairs where we first met / And I’ll bring you a cassette we can listen to when all ends, softly.”

These sentiments are reinforced by Vierula’s bandmates, who concoct a spacious sonic canvas. Guitar notes chime out with pristine integrity and the rhythm section conspires to create a flow that has strength but is never forceful. Taken together, it is a gorgeous bit of performance as evocative as it is striking.

  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • FriendFeed
  • Posterous
  • Delicious
  • E-Mail

Rate It Here:  My ears, they bleed!Never againMehNot my thangOne listen is enoughGood, not greatWorth a listenPlaylist-worthyThis my jam!Songasm!!! (16 votes, average: 8.06 out of 10)


, ,

Comments are closed.